Find. Buy. Drive
CAR FROM JAPAN - Find best deals of used cars from reliable Japanese sellers

The Meaning of LXI, VXI, and ZXI in Maruti Suzuki Cars Explained!

The LXI, VXI, and ZXI are different variations of the Maruti Suzuki cars. Almost all the automakers follow this practice. They give different names to different models in the same lineup. All these cars look the same but with slight variations in exterior and interior features.

The Mind-Boggling Alphabets – Do They Make Any Sense?

The use of all these alphabets and monikers are recent editions. In the past, cars used to have simple names indicating simple features such as the engine dimensions or the horsepower. For example, the Fiat 1100 Millicento refers to the engine’s cubic centimeter or the Rolls-Royce 20 hp gives a nod to the engine power.

Even cars manufactured in the 60’s and 70’s had much easier names. There were the stylish VW Beetle, Fords were known as Mustang, Ranchero, and Falcon, and Chevys were simply Impala or Belair. These were the simple times when vehicles used to have simple names.

Rolls-Royce 20 hp – Cars in the past had simpler names. (Photo Source: topworldauto)

However, the apparent mumbo-jumbo in the names of today’s cars is not nonsensical. They are the reasons why the specs in your Hyundai Santro do not match to the Santro your neighbor has and why your Grand Asta performs better than your friend’s. Different monikers stand for different variants of the car. They also clear the confusion about the performance and features between models belonged to the same lineup.

What Do LXI, VXI, and ZXI Mean in Cars?

These indicate the variations in Maruti Suzuki cars. The automaker uses L, V, and Z letters to designate the various trim levels of its car lineups. The XI and DI that follow these letters are used for specifying the petrol and diesel options.

The LXI, VXI, and ZXI mean that they are the petrol version of the cars. The simple way to describe them is:

LXI – The cheapest and the basic variant that has only the standard features. It ranks into the lowest category and offers rudimentary features like front power windows, power steering, manual A/C, and similar facilities.

VXI – It is the mid-range trim that comes with a few more bells and whistles than the LXI models. Some of the facilities these cars provide are an airbag, anti-lock braking system, rear-center armrest, music system, front and rear power windows, and more.

ZXI – These are the highest trim level and the most expensive of all the variations. They come with more premium and safety features including dual airbags, rear defogger, automatic air-conditioning, luxurious comfort facilities, and more.

Maruti Dzire has the ZXI trim. (Photo Source: team-bhp)

>> Find a second-hand car from Japan at best deal here <<

In case of Hatchbacks, all these variants are likely to have the same size, cargo space, horsepower, and other exterior features. The difference lies in the safety and interior facilities. However, these specs are likely to vary in case of SUVs like Brezza and sedans like Dzire.

Also, this nomenclature is applied to the regular Maruti Suzuki cars. The models that are sold through Nexa showrooms (where only premium cars are displayed) like S-Cross and Baleno have a different categorization. The structure of these lineups is: Sigma, Delta, Zeta, and Alpha.

          SEE MORE

The differences between these trim levels at a glance are:





Trim Level

Basic Mid-range Top-range


Front power windows, power steering, A/C, and some other basic properties. All power windows, music system, and others along with all the LXI features. All the LXI and VXI features along with some high-end properties such as airbags, rear parking sensors, steering wheel controls, and others.
Availability Available in all regular Maruti Suzuki models. Available in all regular Maruti Suzuki models. Available in only some select premium models such as Dzire, Ciaz, and Swift. You won’t find this trim level in regulars like WagonR or Alto.
Price Difference Cheapest of all the versions. More than the LXI but less than the ZXI model. The most expensive of all the trims.

What Are the Variations Used by Other Automakers?

Almost all the automakers use different names for their various trim levels. The trim levels of some of the major brands are explained below:

Toyota – The acronyms of some Toyota trims are:

CE – Classic Edition

L – Entry-Level

LE – Luxury Edition

DX – Deluxe

XL – Executive Luxury

SR – Sport Rally

Toyota Corolla Luxury Edition (Photo Source: cargurus)

Honda – Some of the Honda trim levels are: EMT, VXMT, SMT, SVMT, VMT, VAT, etc. The letters E, S, V, VX, etc. denote the category (basic or luxury) and the AT means the model has a continuously variable transmission. The petrol and diesel cars carry i-VTEC and i-DTEC badges, respectively.

Volkswagen – The brand stamps its cars with these trim levels: S, SE, SEL, and SEL Premium, with the premium features assigned to the ascending order. However, there could be some other trim levels in between in some models. For example, the Jetta has an R-Line trim in between SE and SEL.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.